painting – an intergral function of vision

correcting an oil paintng

This is the time when the first flush of fun is over and the work begins – I can see things are out of place and too many marks have no meaning – so first I mark what I want to change with yellow lines – I do this looking at the photograph I’m wokring off of thinking of isses of making the painting have the right sense of scale and mass more than it being an exact copy of the photo.

 

Then after redrawing some boundraies of the rivers I realize I need even bigger changes – and oil paint does not dry very fast – which is good and bad – so it’s time to rub off some paint!

 

Now I can draw in some big underwater shapes. It’s not very pretty, but it will help the picture evlove in to a nore meaningful tangle.

 

And here is a slid show

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

  

Leave a comment